The New Ottawa Critics is an association comprised of professional theatre journalists and editors who have acquired, or are acquiring, some formal (academic or practical) training in theatre studies or a related discipline.

Here is a list of our past and present contributors:

Brianna (Brie) McFarlane (Executive Founder – Editor in Chief – Critic): Brie attended the University of Ottawa where she completed her Bachelor of Arts with a Specialization in Theatre Studies. In the past she has been a Theatre Correspondent for Herd Magazine  and has had work featured on the Capital Critics Circle. Currently she spends her time managing the New Ottawa Critics and also teaching theatre criticism workshops with Once Upon a Kingdom Theatre Company and Idlespice Theatre. Brie is an Associate Member of the Canadian Theatre Critics Association.

Ian Huffam (Founder-Critic): Ian holds a Bachelor of Arts with a double major in Theatre and Classical Studies. He is currently attending the University of Ottawa where he is part of the MA program focusing on translations of Greek tragedies.

Caitlin Gowans (Editor): Caitlin is a graduate of the Theatre Department at the University of Ottawa where she received both her Bachelor of Arts and Masters degrees in Theatre and Dramaturgy (respectively). Currently she resides across the pond as a student at the Royal Holloway (University of London) working towards a Ph. D. Having been employed by the U of O as a Teaching Assistant, Caitlin is no stranger to editing formal and informal pieces of writing.

Wes Babcock (Managing Editor – Critic): Wes Babcock is a graduate of the uOttawa Department of Theatre, where he studied for his bachelor’s degree. He has been a member of the organization since 2014, and while he resides elsewhere, makes regular visits to Ottawa for festivals. Wes has a number of theatrical credits on the technical side of productions, where his interests lie primarily in set, sound, and lighting design. Recently he has also undertaken dramaturgical work. He is a writer of poetry, theatre, fiction, and an experienced literature critic. Find out more about Wes at

Kathy Andrews (Editor)

Meaghan Flaherty (Critic)

Carol Sinclair (Critic)

Martin Glassford (Critic)

Vince Rozario (Editor)


If you are interested in writing for the New Ottawa Critics, send along a CV and a brief sample of your critical/analytical writing (i.e. no short stories, poems, or play excerpts etc) to